Loughmore Castleiney GAA Club News 26th November

The AGM of the club took place on Thursday night last November 22nd in the club rooms with a good attendance present.

The minutes of the 2017 convention was read by secretary Tom McGrath. The secretaries report was held over to our adjourned convention.

Chairman Eugene Stapleton addressed the meeting and stated that while there was disappointment at the senior teams exits at quarter and semi final stages it still was a very good year for the club overall, with our senior hurlers and footballers taking both Mid titles and the senior hurlers winning County league and Cahill cup honours. He thanked the various committees and his fellow officers. He stated that the weekly club lotto, under the guidance of Jim Nolan was keeping the club afloat and urged more people to join this weekly draw with the present jackpot standing at 10,800.00 euro.

He thanked the development committee under Chairman Brendan Meagher and the organisers of the annual Golf Classic, card games and Halloween disco all adding to the club’s badly needed finances. Field maintenance was well looked after with Tom McGrath a regular visitor with his mowing equipment, also Dick Egan who has the jerseys in excellent condition for all games. He finally thanked the website committee, County and Mid board representatives and the photographic committee who now face a test of time to get all photos etc organised for an end of 2019 publication.

The juvenile club he stated end a terrific year winning 3 Mid titles and were pipped in two County finals.

Great work has been performed in the schools by John Meagher and Shane Hennessy he added.

Treasurer Willie Butler produce in fine detail the club’s finances, income and expenditure for the year and as previously stated bur for the weekly lotto and County Board draws it’s anyone’s guess where the club’s standing would be financially.

The following officers were then elected for 2019

President: Fr. Corbett

V/Presidents: Fr. O’ Rourke, Mons. Dooley, Pat Cullen

Chairman: Eugene Stapleton

V/Chairman: Brendan Meagher

Secretary: Tom McGrath

Treasurer: Willie Butler

Asst. Secretaries: Pat Healy/Yvonne Doyle (Juvenile Club)

PRO: Pat Healy

IT Officer: Diarmuid Brennan

Club Registrar: Pairic Hennessy

County Board Rep: John Treacy

County Football Rep: Pat Healy

County Board Draw Promoter: Jim Nolan

Juvenile Liaison Officer: Tomas McGrath

The following team management was appointed

Senior Hurling: Noel Morris

Senior Football: Declan Laffan

Intermediate Football/Junior Hurling: Kevin Johnston

Minor/U/21 selectors deferred due to sanction of age grouping

The Chairman offered his sympathy on behalf of the club to the Kiely family, Cuiguilla on the passing of Micahel a former player and supporter .

He congratulated Tommy Egan on his selection as Sean Gael Award winner in Mid Tipperary, a well deserved one for his talents on and off the field.

Mid Tipperary Awards: Once again the club has been awarded Senior Club of the year for 2018 and our congratulations to John Meagher on his selection as Mid Hurler of the Year.

The adjourned convention is fixed for Thursday December 20th at 8pm in the club rooms.