Club Notes 21st November 2022

Congratulations to Noel McGrath who has been named as the Tipperary Senior Hurling captain for the 2023 season. This is a huge honour for both Noel and the club. Joining Noel on the panel for the year ahead are his brothers John and Brian along with Ciaran Connolly. Best of luck to the lads next year. 

Please note the Loughmore Castleiney AGM will take place on Thursday 24th of November at 7PM in Cuguilla. Nomination/motion forms are available to club members on request.

Loughmore Castleiney GAA Juvenile AGM will take place on Tuesday 6th December at 8pm in Club grounds, Cuguilla.

On Saturday 19th Nov, the Juvenile Club were delighted to support the Dinny Mackey Memorial Relay race which took place in Thurles Greyhound Stadium.  Finishing in second place overall, it was great fun to compete on the track for a change.  Thanks to everyone for a super night and in particular Referee Murty Ryan for organising. 


Congratulations to Eddie Webster who has been announced as a Laochra Gael recipient. Eddie won Railway Cup medals with Munster in 1975 and 1976. He played at Right Corner Back in the 1975 defeat of Ulster and at full back the following year against Leinster.

He played minor, under 21, Junior, and Senior football for Tipperary and won a Division 2 National Football League medal in 1971.

Named Tipperary Footballer of the year in 1973 and again in 1975 along with Mid Tipperary Footballer of the year awards.

An outstanding club player, he won minor and under 21 titles in hurling and football and won 4 county senior football medals in 1973, 1977, 1979, and 1987.

He was also penciled in at corner back on a team of great players that never won an All-Ireland.